Img source:

If you’ve been charged with a DUI, you must maintain SR22 insurance for the DUI. It’s critical to understand your state’s SR22 regulations and how to properly file and maintain one.

What is an SR22?

The most frequent sort of SR22 insurance is a certificate of insurance. It’s common for a DUI arrest to require showing proof of insurance. Following a suspension linked to a DUI conviction, an SR22 is sometimes utilized to reinstate a driver’s license.

This form shows that you have the minimum insurance coverage required by your state’s legislation. SR22 may also be known as:

  • Certificate of Financial Responsibility
  • SR-22 Bond
  • SR-22 Form
  • SR22
Img source:

The term “SR22” is a misnomer. It’s not a type of insurance, but a certification given from the DMV. You may also be able to obtain it through your insurance provider.

When a motorist gets a DUI offense, an SR22 in Indiana is typically required. You can learn more about it here. It may also be needed for various sorts of charges. Driving without insurance, numerous accidents or violations, and a hardship license are just a few examples.

The SR22 is known by a variety of names in other states:

  • SR-22A – The SR-22A is a Class B or C vehicle in Georgia, Missouri, and Texas.
  • SR1P – In California, the SR1P is most often used on vehicles with fewer than four wheels.
  • FR44 – In Virginia and Florida, the FR44 is used.

Keep in mind that each program may have its own criteria as well, in addition to the various names and systems. The FR44, for example, requires greater liability insurance than the state’s minimum requirements. Simply put, drivers in Virginia and Florida who have a DUI on their record are unable to fulfill the state’s minimum insurance standards.

How Much is an SR22?

Img source:

The cost of an SR22 is greater than the cost of a standard insurance plan. The paperwork is generally between $25 and $500. When you submit the form, you might see a rise in your insurance rates since it informs the insurance provider of your DUI convictions. An SR22 form causes nonstandard insurance rates that can be up to four times the cost of a typical insurance plan.

At the same time, an SR22 form is one of many variables that go into your price quote. Your car insurance company will take into account your age, zip code, driving history, and credit score. Because of this, your rates will vary from one insurance provider to the next.

In addition to submitting an SR22, some states may also ask drivers convicted of a DUI to complete a driver safety course in order to have their license reinstated. Some companies, in exchange for this, may provide drivers with a price reduction.

How Long Should an SR22 be Carried?

Img source:

The duration of this varies by state legislation. The majority of states demand drivers who have been charged with a DUI to submit an SR22 for three years after their conviction. If you have a DUI on your record, your state may demand that you file an SR22 for life. The judge at your court hearing will usually determine your requirements for submitting an SR22. You’ll be notified by the state of this.

It’s also vital to remember that the SR22 will not fall off your record on its own after your time limit has elapsed. You’ll have to ask your insurance company to delete the form. You may see a drop in rates after the form is no longer active.

If you fail to submit the required SR22 documents, your license will be suspended again.

Is This More Expensive than a Regular Insurance Plan?

Img source:

Indeed, possessing an SR22 form typically comes with higher costs compared to standard car insurance rates. The expense associated with filing this paperwork can vary depending on your state of residence and the insurance provider you select, often resulting in premiums that are up to four times higher than those for standard coverage. If you’d like to learn more about what is SR22 insurance and its implications, you can find additional information by visiting the provided link.

Some companies also offer discounts if drivers successfully complete the court-mandated driver safety course after getting arrested for a DUI. Driving courses like these are not mandated by law in every state; however, drivers may get lower rates with some providers if they take one. You can receive up to 10% off or more on your policy. If you live in Virginia or Florida, you might need an SR22 to get your license reinstated after a DUI.

If you are required by the state of California to drive with FR44 insurance, this can cost significantly more than regular car insurance. With this policy, your insurer must pay at least $40,000 in restitution for injuries or property damage caused by any accident. You’ll also see higher rates since this policy is non-standard; however, drivers will receive certain discounts if they successfully complete the court-mandated driver safety course after getting arrested for a DUI.

How do I Get an SR 22 Ticket?

Img source:

You may be able to apply for the form on your own or ask someone else (like your parents) to help you get it online. In most cases, you can find forms online. In some states, your car insurance provider might be able to help you as well if they offer the service.

In order to receive this from a company or state agency, drivers will have to fulfill a few basic requirements:

  • Successfully complete a driver safety course for their DUI offense.
  • Have a clean driving record for several years before applying for the form — if you have any accidents or traffic violations on your record within that time frame, you’ll have to wait longer before applying.
  • Pay all license reinstatement fees and court costs associated with their DUI conviction  File proof of financial responsibility ( insurance).
  • Get signatures from three of your previous insurance providers, stating the dates of your policy and verifying that you were never considered a “hazard” to their business.
  • Your car insurance provider may also ask drivers convicted of a DUI to re-submit an SR22 once per year or every time their rates drop. If the company provides this service, they’ll have you fill out a form.


An SR22 is required in most states after a DUI conviction. Drivers need to maintain the form for several years and comply with other stipulations set by their insurer. SR22 insurance can be expensive, but drivers may qualify for discounts if they successfully complete a driver safety course after getting arrested for a DUI.